top of page

Former National Officers

Pi Delta Phi would like to thank, and owes a tremendous debt to, those individuals who served as national officers of the Society. The commitment and energy of these volunteers helped the Society to expand. Regretfully, some of the Society's early history is lost or unknown. As such, some of the information below may be missing or inaccurate. Nevertheless we are pleased to share what information we currently have. We update the profiles below as additional information is discovered. Affiliations were correct at the time of service. For current officers see: Executive Board

National Presidents

Click on any name to learn more about the President.


2007-pres.–Dr. Scott Fish–Epsilon Mu

1999-2007–Dr. Paul Wood–Beta Omega

1988-1999–Dr. Rolande Léguillon–Gamma Eta

1981-1987–Sister Eloise Therese Mescall–Gamma

1966-1974–Dr. Elizabeth Brandon–Beta Beta

1962-1965–Dr. Joseph W. Yedlicka–Beta Psi

1959-1962–Dr. Wynn Rickey–Tau

1951-1959–Mr. Louis E. Richter–Zeta

1946-1951–Dr. Max Oppenheimer, Jr.–Gamma

1944-1946–Ens. Barbara Shuey-Alpha

1940-1942–Dr. Laurence (Laurent) Le Sage-Zeta

1938-1940–Ms. Olga Lillian Norstrom–Alpha

1936-1938–Mr. Wesley C. Drummond–Beta

1934-1936–Mr. Ned C. Fahs–Alpha

Executive Directors & Secretary-Treasurers

Click on any name to learn more about the Executive-Director.


2011-pres.–Dr. Beverly J. Evans–Mu Iota

2004-2011–Dr. Pamela Park–Lambda Omega

1987-2004–Dr. Mary Gutermuth–Eta Iota

1965-1974–Dr. Joseph W. Yedlicka–Beta Psi

1959-1965–Mr. Louis E. Richter–Gamma Nu


The position of Secretary-Treasurer was changed to Executive Director sometime in the late 1950s. Click on any name to learn more about the Secretary-Treasurer.


1953-1959–Dr. George B. Watts

1951-1953–Dr. Aviva H. (Schonthal) Bertran–Sigma

1944-1951–Ms. Gisèle A. (Liff) Hart–Alpha

1942-1944–Ms. Cyr McMillan–Nu

1938-1942–Ms. Lucie Lataillade-Iota

1936-1938–Ms. Olga Lillian Norstrom-Alpha


Editors of Pi Delta Phi publications

Click on any name to learn more about the publication's Editor.


2019-pres.–Dr. Wade Edwards–Kappa Iota–Digital Media Editor

2017-2018–Dr. Eileen M. Angelini–Nu Chi–Editor, Newsletter

1992-2016–Dr. Karen Renick–Zeta Chi–Editor, Newsletter

1988-1992–Dr. Judith Barban–Editor, Newsletter

unknown-1988–Mr. Thomas Shealy–Editor, Newsletter

1950-1962–Mr. Louis E. Richter–Zeta, Editor, "Pi Delta Phi Notes" The French Review

1939–Dr. Richard F. Rathman–Iota, Editor, Deux Patries



Dr. Jeanne Rigsby


Dr. Jacques Chicoineau


Dr. Caroll Pell


Dr. Clayton Alcorn


Ms. Christine Backus

Gaps between dates of service may suggest that no candiate nominations were received. Differences in Regional designations reflect regional remapping made by the Executive Board. Affiliations were correct at the time of service.


Years of Service, Region, Name, Affiliation and State


2017-2018–West–Dr. E. Joe Johnson, Clayton State University, Morrow, Georgia

2011-2016–West–Dr. Pamela Park, Idaho State University, Pocatello, Idaho

2006-2007–West–Dr. Mary Gutermuth, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, Texas

1997-2004–West–Dr. Pamela Park, Idaho State University, Pocatello, Idaho

1990-1993–Pacific–Dr. Ingeborg Kohn, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona

1984-1989–Pacific–Dr. Jeanne Rigsby, University of San Diego, San Diego, California

1965-1968–Far West–Sister Eloise Therese Mescall, Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles, California

2017-2022–North–Dr. Sheila Turek, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Whitewater, Wisconsin

2015-2017–North–Dr. John Janc, Mankato State University Mankato, Mankato, Minnesota

2007-2015–North Central–Dr. John Janc, Mankato State University Mankato, Mankato, Minnesota

2002-2007–North Central–Dr. Scott Fish, Augustana University, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

1997-2001–North Central–Dr. Camille Vande Berg, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan

1992-1997–Central–Dr. Guy Lambert, Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah

1985-1992–Central–Dr. Pierre Limouzy, St. Louis University, St. Louis, Missouri

1987-1993–Northwest–Dr. Claire Mather, St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minnesota

1965-1968–Midwest–Dr. Anne Helgesen, Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, Michigan

1963-1965–Midwest–Dr. Jacques Chicoineau, Webster College, St. Louis, Missouri


2015-2018–South–Dr. Olga Amarie, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, Georgia

2013-2015–Southeast–Dr. Olga Amarie, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, Georgia

1998-2011–Southeast–Dr. Carleen Leggett, Morgan State University, Baltimore, Maryland

1988-1998–Southeast–Dr. Judith Barban, Winthrop College, Rock Hill, South Carolina

1992-1997–Southwest–Dr. David Gobert, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Illinois

1982-1992–Southwest–Dr. Rolande Léguillon, University of Saint Thomas, Houston, Texas

2010-2015–South Central–Dr. Moira Di Mauro-Jackson, Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas

2000-2008–South Central–Dr. Patricia Hopkins, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas

1995-2000–South Central–Dr. Mary-Jo Netherton, Morehead State University, Morehead, Kentucky

1970s–South–Dr. Carroll Pell, Memphis State University, Memphis, Tennessee


2017-2022–East–Dr. Kathryn E. Fredericks, State University of New York-Geneseo, Geneseo, New York

2015-2017–East–Dr. Eileen M. Angelini, Canisius College, Buffalo, New York

2011-2015-Northeast–Dr. Eileen M. Angelini, Canisius College, Buffalo, New York

2008-2011–Northeast–Dr. Beverly Evans, State University of New York at Geneseo, New York

2005-2007–Dr. Dorothea Heitsch, Shippensburg University, Shippensburg, Pennsylvania

2001-2005–Northeast–Dr. Clayton Alcorn, State University of New York at Cortland, Cortland, New York

1990-1998–Northeast–Dr. Paul Wood, St. Bonaventure University, St. Bonaventure, New York

1984-1989–Northeast–Dr. Marcel Lidji, City University of New York, New York, New York

1968-1971–Anne Helgesen–Cedar Crest College, Allentown, Pennsylvania

1965-1968–East–Sister Margaret Flinton, St. Joseph College, Emmitsburg, Maryland

Prior to 1965, the Executive Board included only one or two National Vice Presidents.


1961-1965–First Vice President–Sister Eloise Therese Mescall, Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles,

1959-1961–First Vice President–Dr. Elizabeth Brandon, University of Houston, Houston, Texas

1951-1959–First Vice President–Dr. H. Wynn Rickey, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas


1961-1965–Second Vice President–Sister Margaret Flinton, St. Joseph College, Emmitsburg, Maryland

1959-1961–Second Vice President–Sister Marie Gregoire, Rosary College, River Forest, Illinois

1953-1959–Second Vice President–Dr. Elizabeth Brandon, University of Houston, Houston, Texas

1951-1953–Second Vice President–Mr. Charles E. Rupert Jr., University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, Tennessee


1946-1950–Vice President–Mr. Louis E. Richter, University of Oregon, Eugene; then Linfield College, McMinnville, Oregon

1944-1946–Vice President–Mrs. Christine (Backus) Oppenheimer, Montebello High School, Montebello, California

1936-1938–Vice President–Mr. Leonard Greenberg

bottom of page